Buy Accessible Products and Services

All information and communication technology (ICT) procured, developed, maintained, or used by Federal agencies must be accessible. ICT includes software, hardware, electronic content, support documentation and services.

Acquisition Planning

If you want to purchase ICT products or services for your Federal agency, you will need to determine whether, and how well, the items conform to the Revised 508 Standards for IT accessibility. The first step is to evaluate accessibility information from vendors.

  • Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT) - Review the product’s VPAT to determine how well the product complies with Section 508. Vendors typically post this information on their website on their ”accessibility” page or on the product description page.

Document Accessibility Requirements

Incorporate Section 508 criteria into the evaluation factors and add accessibility provisions, clauses, and acceptance criteria, to ensure accessibility support is provided throughout the life of the contract, and to manage your agency's accessibility risk after award.

Accessibility Requirements Tool (ART)

  • Accessibility Requirements Tool - Automates the Revised 508 Standards Applicability Checklist; generates an accessibility reporting requirements template and customizable accessibility solicitation language.


Use accessibility testing to validate that technology products and services provide full support for accessibility prior to contract award and/or prior to deploying custom developed deliverables.

  • Test for Accessibility - Learn how to test documents, websites, and other electronic content for accessibility.

Related Resources

Reviewed/Updated: May 2018