Home » Test for Accessibility » Interagency Trusted Tester Program

Interagency Trusted Tester Program

Interagency Trusted Tester Baseline

The Interagency Trusted Tester Baseline provides standardized test scripts that can be used to create an accessibility test process. The current baseline addresses full conformance to the Original 508 Standards for web and software, and provides support for the Revised 508 Standards where overlaps occur.

An interagency working group is developing test scripts and tools to test for full conformance with the Revised 508 Standards, and they could use your help! If you’d like to participate, please contact Allen Hoffman at allen.hoffman@hq.dhs.gov.

Trusted Tester Process

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Trusted Tester Process is a testing approach for validating accessibility compliance and conformity. This process uses the Interagency Trusted Tester Baseline to provide a repeatable test process for determining software and website conformance to the Original 508 standards. The test process covers some, but not all, WCAG Level A and AA Success Criteria.

Work is currently underway to expand test coverage for WCAG Success Criteria.

Trusted Tester Certification Program

The DHS Interagency Trusted Tester Program (ITTP) offers training and a formal certification process for accessibility testing using the DHS Trusted Tester Process. Agencies that adopt the trusted tester baseline and test process only accept trusted test results from individuals who have been certified.

Related Resources

The resources on this page were created through interagency collaborative efforts sponsored under the Accessibility Community of Practice (ACoP), a committee under the Federal Chief Information Officers (CIO) Council and the Federal Chief Acquisition Officer (CAO) Council. These resources are endorsed by the ACoP for use across the US Government for validating conformance to the Revised 508 Standards.


Reviewed/Updated: May 2018